2016 Hermann Blumgart Award Winner

The Hermann Blumgart Award is the highest award and honor bestowed by the Cardiovascular Council.  The election by the Board of Directors of the CVC is based on criteria of both scientific contributions to the field of cardiovascular  nuclear medicine and service to the Council.

The Cardiovascular Council (CVC) of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging would like to congratulate Prem Soman, MD, PhD as the 2016 recipient of the Hermann Blumgart Award.

Dr. Prem Soman is Tenured Associate Professor of Medicine(Cardiology), and Clinical and Translational Science at the University of Pittsburgh. He is Director of Nuclear Cardiology and Director of the Advanced Cardiac Imaging Fellowship at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center.


Pictured right to left:

Thomas Schindler, MD, CVC Immediate Past President, Prem Soman, MD, PhD, 2016 Hermann Blumgart Winner, Robert J. Gropler, MD, CVC President


Prem Soman, MD, PhD presents the 2016 Hermann Blumgart Award Lecture "Keeping Nuclear Cardiology Relevant in a Changing Healthcare Environment."